This is a post I had written nearly two years ago, but never got around to post it. As I was looking through my drafts I came across this very interesting event that happened back when I was doing my PhD. I finally publish it…

Just a few days back, we in our group at school were having review sessions. In this review session we were discussing research papers that were submitted at a conference and that were given to my professor for critiquing. I was all very happy and confident that, I had read the papers and  was all set to slam and dunk them. However halfway through the first paper being submitted, when I started showering in what the paper did not do and what the paper missed etc, etc… my professor made a very invaluable remark to me and my friend. It is very easy to be critical to someone’s work. But it takes effort to understand what they are saying despite the fact that they did not say it as well as they wanted to. Proper education is not it finding faults, but in understanding.

